The Parish of Whitehill covers Whitehill and Bordon and lies in the North east corner of East Hampshire. It is situated on the A325 midway between Farnham in the north and Petersfield in the south and is within half an hours drive of Guildford, Portsmouth and Basingstoke.
The Council attained Parish status in 1928 by Act of Parliament and prior to that came within the Parishes of Headley and Selborne. In 1991 Whitehill Parish Council changed its name to Whitehill Town Council.
The Town is divided into 5 wards (Chase, Deadwater, Hogmoor, Pinewood & Walldown) served by three Councillors in each ward. Elections take place every 4 years. The 2011 census gave the population figure as 13,259 and 5,162 households.
The Town grew in a piecemeal fashion around the military facility of the Bordon Garrison which remained in the town for over 100 years. The first REME soliders arrived in 1945 and the School of Electrical & Mechanical Engineers (SEME) was created in 1961. In September 2015 the Bordon Garrison closed when SEME relocated to RAF Lyneham. The Town Council hosted a farewell event to celebrate this important part of history www.farewelltobordongarrison.org.uk.
The army's departure released considerable training land and barracks. Consequently years of planning now sees construction starting for approximately 3,500 new homes, employment space for 5,500 new jobs, a new town centre, community facilities, public transport and up to 200 hectares of green spaces.
Whitehill & Bordon benefits from a unique and attractive landscape setting of heathlands, river corridors and woodlands. It is the only location in the British Isles to support all twelve native species of reptiles and amphibians. It is a long narrow Parish covering some eight square miles.